2006-02-01

the perfect touche

The word 'touche' and I have share a very long, tumultuous history together.

I don't remember where I first heard it, but it must have been a perfect touche moment. Because directly afterwards, the room got kind of quiet and everyone did that "oooh" noise that people do when somebody says something cleverly derisive.

I thought it was damn cool, so I started trying to use it. Except I never really understood the correct context for a touche.

"Rori, what do you want for dinner?"
"Touche, mom!"

"What did you get for #7?"
"Touche!"

"Stop saying that damn word!"
"...Touche!"

Eventually people got sick of hearing me misuse touche and I got sick of being told to shut up, so I phased it out of my vocabulary.

But I am still waiting for the perfect opportunity for a touche to arise. And that moment will be the crowning achievement of my life to this point.

zebrasaur at 3:37 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next