2006-05-18

You (can't) be anything you want

Spring of senior year, a season of triumphantly ignoring my homework and rereading Harry Potter books and neglecting my extracurricular activities. The only thing that could temper my glory is that !@#%# question, "What are you going to study next year?"

Because, my friends, I do not know. There is not a single career that I can see myself actively pursuing, and that presents quite a problem. Our generation grew up being told that we can do whatever we want and be whatever we want. So naturally, I've been banking on becoming a rock star astronaut with my own reality TV show.

But the truth is slowly sinking in: you can't be whatever you want. I mean, would you ever hire Kirstie Alley as your nutritionist? No. Or let Edward Scissorhands be your gynecologist? Double no.

And that leaves me with a quandary. And not just a regular quandary - a big quandary. A big quandary wrapped in an enigma then soaked in a predicament for three days before being sprinkled with freshly ground conundrum.

Damn.

zebrasaur at 3:49 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next