2006-08-12

never-never

I went to the science museum today. I hadn't been there in a very long time. It was a little depressing at first because it seems a hell of a lot smaller and less grandiose now than it did when I was little.

I hate going places/doing things/reading books that I loved when I was a kid and realizing that I don't love them anymore. Watching reruns of Nickelodeon shows and noticing all of the holes in the plot. Going through old toys in the garage and finding out that I've lost my knack for pogo-sticking and hula-hooping. Reinstalling Math Blaster only to realize that I still can't do basic subtraction. Skimming a cast-aside copy of an Animorphs book and finally understanding that there was a reason those books weren't exactly raking in the Pulitzers.

It's a shitty feeling, but I digress. Back to the musuem.

I walked around the fossils and dinosaurs and rocks for a while, but it wasn�t noteworthy. I wonder why I always think it's necessary to make one last trip for old time's sake? In reality, it�s better not knowing the last time that you do something -- I think too hard, I try too hard to instil meaning into the experience, I fixate on the idea that I�ll never know another moment just like this one.

But then we went to the Body Works exhibit. And, true to form, I was unable to supress a stream of giggling when we looked at the reproductive system display. I found the excretory system equally hilarious. I made innapropriate jokes and tasteless comments -- in front of old people. And I didn't care (no, not even a little) when other people glared at me.

So you see, even though I'm technically an adult it's highly unlikely that I'll ever grow up. And I find that comforting.

zebrasaur at 12:08 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next