2006-11-23

el dia de la accion de dar gracias

Hoy es el dia de la accion de dar gracias. That's how Spaniards say "Today is Thanksgiving." I know, I know, it's horribly inefficient. But that's ok -- they don't have to say it that often since it's not really their holiday. Thanksgiving is kind of an American thing, much the like the Fourth of July and baseball and low voter turnout.

But since I am, in fact, an American, it was my civic duty to spend today wallowing in thankfulness. Much of 2006 Thanksgiving gratitude was directed at: my lovely friends, my wonderful family, diet soda, the St. Paul skyline, 100% cotton, unseasonably warm weather, low(ish) gas prices, Christmas music, Crest toothpaste, cartoons, hot showers, text messages, Vivaldi, and the relative efficiency of the English language!

zebrasaur at 11:01 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next