2007-02-01

snacking for equality

I just finished reading a book on the intersection of Latino-targeted stereotypes and inequities in the United states legal system. After I recovered from being shocked at having actually read an entire course book on time, I moved on to being shocked by actually caring about what it had to say. I mean, I love a good racist joke as much as the next insensitive teenager, but I don't want to see anyone actually being imprisoned for their ethnicity.

My response was both bold and immediate: hunger strike! But about two hours into that, I got pretty hungry so I decided to modify my strategy to a light snacking strike.

So far my efforts have included a banana, some M&M's and a bag of popcorn I acquired while on a foraging mission in a friend's dorm room. An activist less dedicated than I might call that last one stealing, but too bad! I'm bound to my word. I must snack for racial equality! Lightly.

zebrasaur at 11:14 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next