2007-04-12

it's too bad the south is in the south

You know you're living in the Midwest when it's nearly two weeks into April and slush from a sudden blizzard sends you sprawling face-first down Bascom Hill. I trudged back home from my final class at one this afternoon and didn't even bother wrenching off my waterlogged sneakers before looking up transfer requirements for universities in climates less likely to result in a Prozac prescription.

University of Texas, of Florida, of Georgia, of Arizona... all boast plenty of warm sun and chilled beer with nary a snowflake in sight. There's only one problem: southern universities tend to be located in, well, the south.

I imagine that the south is a lot of things, some good and some bad. I am equal parts tempted by the year-round sunshine/tan skin/iced tea and repulsed by the trailer parks/lynchings/babies with flippers for hands. And let us not forget that Britney Spears serves as a grim warning of what receiving an education in the South can do to a person.

But weighing out the pros and cons is wasted effort, since I'm technically locked into my apartment lease for the upcoming year. The closest I'll be getting to above-freezing temperatures is the Jimmy Buffet playlist that I've been blasting on a constant loop all day.

zebrasaur at 12:24 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next