2007-07-10

sloggin'

I spent much of the morning absorbing media. This can be dangerous because it involves many dangerous hours with nothing but television and the internet before my delicate prying eyes, and indeed at one point I almost imploded when the tube connecting my mouth to my feeding bag got switched from the "FEED" to the "SUCK" position (DON'T LAUGH! People have died that way!)

Anyway after a few hours of nothing but television I am not as happy and bouncy as I would have anticipated. In fact, I'm more or less enraged.

I flipped on CNN hoping to enjoy a little carnage with my Apple Cinnamon poptarts. But it turns out, war just isn't what it used to be. It used to be you'd settle into a good solid quagmire, get your toes all comfortable and squishy in there, and even with a monster draft and a hideous body count you could be in there for many years before the public really got sick of it. Now just a couple of years into a nightmarishly ill-conceived slog of a land war America is losing its stomach for nightmarishly ill-conceived slogs of land wars. This isn't the historically myopic America I know and love! All we hear these days is a lot of sheepish mumbling like "wow, um, this might have been kind of a bad idea" and "maybe we should quit this whole war thing while we're ahead...or if not ahead, then at least alive." Where is the determination? Where is the suicidal obstinacy? I can only pray it returns in full force before two o'clock, when I am going to need something to watch while I'm on the treadmill at Lifetime.

zebrasaur at 12:28 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next