2007-08-19

a conservative 9.5

Thanks to all the painkillers I had in my system, I had some zany dreams last night. Most of them are too stupid to repeat here, and I wouldn't subject you to that anyway because I am well aware that listening to what happened in other people's dreams is about as interesting as watching the British version of The Office. None for me, thanks.

Oh man. Today is clocking in at a conservative 9.5 on the frustrating scale. After three months of intense drought, it's finally raining. I don't know if you've ever been to the Midwest, but if you plan on visiting I heartily recommend you not come when it is raining. Or snowing, or windy, or cold, or hot, or foggy. Because all anyone will want to talk about is the weather. I swear Paul Douglas almost had a coronary on the evening news. Which would have been fine as he is at the very top of my list of people who I wish would have coronaries. Twins Cities residents, I trust you're with me on that one.

Miserable weather calls for miserable pastimes, so I decided to pick up some stuff I need for the apartment at Target. I was cruising happily down Prairie Center Drive, hyping myself up for some new bathroom rugs and wastebaskets, when my steering wheel stopped working. Great, ok, no problem, I drive without a steering wheel all the time. I artfully swerved my way to the nearest parking lot, in pouring rain no less, which was not an unimpressive bit of driving on my part. I spent half an hour marooned in that empty parking lot playing game after game of Bubble Smile on my cell phone. I got a new high score, so I guess the day wasn't a total loss.

When he came to pick me up, Ben determined the power steering had gone out. Power steering? Thanks a lot, thing I barely understand at all. Way to be a unreliable force that threatens my safety and ability to commute with your volatile, over-sensitive nature. Everybody raise a glass to my ill-fated existence. Mount Whateverest.**

**Though it may seem I am aloof about my current lack of luck by comparing my non-chalance to Mount Everest in scale; nothing could be further from the truth. I am legitimately bummed, and concerned as to how far into the future this trend will continue.

zebrasaur at 4:00 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next