2007-09-23

recluse

Gangmembers-

Yesterday was great! (ferocious jumping jacks)!

Actually, it started off not so great because I had to get up early to go do hideous manual labor. It was a morning shift, but it was also game day so not only was the place packed full of people that don't even go to school here, but everybody was already drunk. And these aren't normal drunks, they are Sconnie drunks... oh... how to make you understand?

I don't know what your mental picture of Wisconsin is like, but I can tell you that it's probably wrong. I know that mine was before I moved here. Madison and its outlying suburbs are not the idyllic Laura Ingalls Wilder pastures you are envisioning. And the people were nothing like the floppy Jim Henson creations we all presumed they would be. This place is depraved... there is something wrong with it.

If only people knew. If only there was a website....a place to order videos of Wisconsin off the internet... then maybe you'd understand what I'm going through. It's not always a bad thing, sometimes Sconnie culture can even be endearing. But when they get together in enormous, beer-soaked mobs it is best that you flee the scene in a hurry.

So I did. After some delicious lunch/intellectual conversation with Caitlin, I retired to 807 to dodge the Iowa pre-game madness. Everyone else headed out for some binge drinking and football around five, but I remained at home to work on paintings and fight off potential burglars. All offers of parties/drinking/getting off the couch were flatly rejected. It was great. Sober Saturday may become a tradition-- or even an institution-- in my life.

Today, the weather is nice and so are...things. Cable installation is slated for Wednesday. My paycheck was just deposited and my checking account balance has been resurrected from the dead. As has my laptop. Classes are good. Friends are good. I really am one of the luckiest people. And so are you, because you read my diary!

zebrasaur at 10:15 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next