2007-11-26

to a deluxe apartment in the sky

Ladies! Gentlemen! Everything in between!

Hot news, straight off the presses: I signed a lease for next year. Actually, that is not such "hot news" -- it occurred about a week ago, and I forgot to tell you until now. BUT. Exciting nonetheless. It's the same old supercrew as this year, plus new additions Laura, Steph, and Susanna.

Those of you familiar with the Madison real estate market will undoubtedly be shaking your heads sympathetically at the thought of touring rental houses around here, many of which would make a crack house look like something out of Norman Rockwell's America. On more than one occasion, I found myself fully expecting to open a closet door to discover a family of illegal immigrants huddled around a trashcan fire, scanning the Classifieds.

BUT our Odyssey ended favorably, with a quaint four-bedroom villa complete with operational plumbing, spacious balcony, and fully-equipped kitchen. It even has a fire escape in case I or one of my roommates should ever feel the desire to, you know, escape a fire.

This was the paragraph where I described the desirable urban location of our new home, but then I deleted it when I realized that I don't want you to know where I live. Not in a "Pretty in Pink" way, like I live in an embarrassing neighborhood or something. More because I don't want you biking past my building 300 times a day hoping to catch a glimpse of me brushing my long, beautiful hair in the window. Nothing personal.

zebrasaur at 7:19 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next