2007-12-30

if you need the rundown

I'd tell you all about Christmas, but it's basically the same every year. Go check the 2006 and 2005 entries if you need the rundown.

Usually I'm a little depressed when Christmas is over, because it's a whole eleven months before I get to vaccuum pine needles out the carpet and pretend to believe in the Bible again. But this year I was pretty fed up with the whole thing by the time the twenty-sixth rolled around. So much so I didn't even have the energy for after-Christmas sales, even though I usually pride myself on being a hopelessly shallow materialist.

The Consumerist American take on the holidays has not only ruined Christmas for me, it has also ruined consumerism. That's a pretty impressive feat. Paradoxical, but impressive. So way to go corporate greed!

I guess.

zebrasaur at 12:04 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next