2008-02-23

I guess I could.... get one

Oh man, sometimes semantics get me all in a tizz!

So it's been snowing super hard over the last... two months, and I have yet to go sledding. Last night, I was out at a string of "events" and I struck up the following with an acquaintance, who we'll call Shipwreck (Sorry but I hate using false names like, "We'll call him Brian! But his name's really Steve!" So instead, you get the seafaring guy from G.I. Joe - enjoy!)

Me: Shipwreck, let's go sledding!
Shipwreck: I know... I'd like to! But I don't have a sled.
Me: Um... do you have a GLAD BAG?
Shipwreck: (pause) I think I could uh... get one.

See, the pause/unnecessary hesitation had me go down a rabbit-hole of thought wherein "glad bag" means something in Texas- most likely a euphemism for condom (seems like something my grandmother might say) and I totally just asked someone to have the sex. Did I?

zebrasaur at 7:22 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next