2005-11-06

Donuts, Mennonites, Firearms

Just flew in from Pennsylvania, where there is a Dunkin' Donuts on every street corner. I'm serious. Those Quakers really like their donuts.

Pennsylvania is also home to an overabundance of religious crazies. On my way to H&M in Philadelphia, three Mennonites tried to save my soul. They were wearing bonnets, but other than that were pretty boring -- you know the drill, a lot of "Repent sinner" and "God loves you" and "Al Gore is the anti-christ". Standard religious nut stuff.

When I wasn't involuntarily receiving the word of Christ, I was touring colleges. I will end this needlessly long entry with an example of why I will never go on another college tour with my dad.

Tour guide: Here at Haverford we try to stay close to our Quaker roots. Our Honor Code is actually based on that Quaker tradition. Socially, the Honor Code is Haverford's basic philosophy that an atmosphere of respect and frienship should exist between all of our students.
My dad: Ok. And ... what's your policy on firearms?
Tour guide: uhhh *awkward pause*
My dad: Hand-held only?

zebrasaur at 12:04 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next