2006-02-26

one kleenex left

Before my brother left for college, we shared a bathroom. Whenever we ran out of something in said bathroom (toothpaste, shampoo, Kleenex, etc.) one of us was supposed to replenish the supply. The rule was that whoever used the last of the object in question was supposed to replace it. Of course neither of us ever wanted to be the one to do that - not because is was difficult, just because it somehow felt like surrender. So the question became, who actually used the last of it? We would spend days forcing toothpaste out of a tube that any rational person would have declared to be empty. Sibling rivalry I guess. Now that he is gone, the problem should have resolved itself. But to the contrary, I am actually engaged in a battle of wills with... myself. The Kleenex box has precisely one Kleenex left in it. It has been that way for weeks. When I need a Kleenex, I actually go downstairs to get one instead of using the last one in the box. And I find myself plotting: Ben will be home in March for Spring Break. If I don�t catch a cold, I can probably hold out that long. And then he will have to replace the Kleenex Box.

I am a sick individual.

zebrasaur at 7:24 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next