2006-08-01

To my beloved sneakers

I guess this is goodbye.

I�m so sorry.

I wish it didn�t have to end this way.

Don�t look at me like that. We both knew this was coming; it was only a matter of time. I�ve been putting this off for a year now, but I can�t avoid it any longer. We�ve had a lot of good times, but it�s time to move on.

Don�t let anyone tell you that this is about how you look. That�s not it at all; you know I�ve never cared about that. No matter what anyone says, you�re beautiful the way you are. But I need something new.

Oh, and one more thing. I�m sorry that I have to be the one to tell you this, but I guess it�s better that you hear it from me than someone else. Brace yourself.

They�re Nikes. Yes, yes, I know. They were probably sewn by some poor Bolivian child in a sweatshop, and I should feel guilty for even thinking about wearing them. But I can�t help loving them anyway.

Anyway, I just wanted to say goodbye. You�ve been good to me, and I�ll miss you. I hope you find a good place in shoe heaven. You deserve it.

zebrasaur at 11:57 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next