2006-09-23

just thinking

Disclaimer: Today's blog is probably going to read like it was written by Oprah Winfrey on downers. It was written more for my benefit than for yours, so feel free to skip it. I promise to come up with something more light-hearted tomorrow.

At home I had this group of friends. Real friends; the kind that know my middle name and my favorite color. The kind that didn't complain when I made them listen to Frank Sinatra in the car, that ignored my semi-compulsive lying habit and tolerated my lame jokes. I grew up with these people, and not having them around me is like having the floor pulled out from beneath my feet.

Here I don't so much have friends as I have associates. They are people that I can call if I want to find a party, or if I'm running low on Bacardi, or if I need a beer pong partner. They are a lot of fun, but that's about all that they are.

I don't like forgetting people's names by the day after I meet them. I don't like not recognizing the numbers in my cell phone. I don't like waking up to find people that I don't know in my room. I don't like leaving a party and realizing that I've lost track of the people I came with.

I'm not implying that I want to abandon the party lifestyle. Life is about experiences, and this is certainly an experience. I just wish I was experiencing it with the kind of people who know my middle name and my favorite color.

zebrasaur at 1:27 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next