2006-11-09

more election talk

I imagine that by now you've learned that Wisconsin voters passed the civil union ban amendment.

There's been a lot of bitter debate about this around campus, which I've largely tried to stay out of. When conversing with people who oppose equal rights, I generally I try to restrict my topics of conversation with to things like the enjoyability of the current weather or what I plan to eat for dinner. Partially this is because I like to avoid confrontation, but mostly it is because this sort of person is unable to grasp concepts more complicated than those without the use of some sort of visual aid, such as hand puppets or a colorfully illustrated flowchart. Likely, it is these limited cognitive abilities that have led them to equate "equal rights" with a "slippery slope into mayhem".

But other than that one small intellectual flaw, the ban supporters are people just like you and me. Except that their veins are filled with bigotry instead of human blood. Still, I urge you to make peace with your ban-touting neighbors. What's done is done; the ban has been passed and there's nothing to be done about it now. All we can do is hope for a brighter, less prejudiced future.

zebrasaur at 9:14 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next