2006-11-29

Financial wizardry

At the end of every shift at work, each cashier has to go to the back room with a supervisor and count out the money in his or her register drawer. Mine never quite adds up. In my defense, my errors are usually small (ranging from a dime to a quarter) and in favor of my employer.

But I still get yelled at.

This seems somewhat irrational to me. I am actually a highly desirable employee-- more so than my "accurate" coworkers because I can conjure money out of thin air and they can't. The ability to do magic is a highly sought-after skill in the job market. Pop's is lucky to have me.

But I still get yelled at.

Fortunately, today I counted out with a new supervisor who was not upset by my cash-register alchemy. Instead, he was so impressed by my fiscal wizardry that he proceeded to ask me for relationship advice.

It seems that things were going well with his girlfriend until they decided to play Monopoly, and he discovered that she had to painstakingly count each dot on the dice to determine what number she had rolled. The efficient reading of dice is pretty much an elementary-level skill, so either the girl in question is a six-year-old or something is wrong with her. My sup assures me that she is not in fact a six-year-old. So we are left to assume that something else is wrong.

But what? Is she OCD? Is she just dumb? Should he wait around to find out?

I advised him to get rid of her. You don't want to waste your time hanging around some girl who is in college but can't count correctly.

(Hanging around with a girl who regularly creates currency while working as a cashier is, of course, completely different. That is not an inability to count -- that is an ability to perform financial magic. There is a fundamental difference.)

zebrasaur at 9:54 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next