2007-01-01

make it yours

The fastest way to lose my respect is to tell me that your favorite book is The da Vinci Code. The second fastest way is to tell me that you "don't like books."

I don't where people have been getting this idea that it's "cool" to become voluntarily illiterate, but let me be perfectly clear on this point: hating books does not make you cool.

Look, if you really want to look cooler just go smoke some cigarettes, ok? Unfiltered, if you really want to go the extra mile. Or do some drugs, or drink underage, or play guitar in a pretentiously titled punk band, or, oh, I don't know... buy an Abercrombie tee shirt.

All of those are tried and true methods of making yourself "cool." But hating books? No. That just makes you ignorant.

My New Year's resolution is to read more. And since I think we both know that neither one of us is going to drag our ass onto a treadmill, maybe you should make this your resolution too.

zebrasaur at 5:25 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next