2007-01-11

I didn't watch it, but I'll tell you about it anyway

Last night I meant to huddle up in front of the TV at 8:00 to conduct an in-depth analysis of Bush's much-anticipated speech.

Instead I went out for Persian food with Connie and Nick/Cole. But don't worry, after fighting Nick for the last piece of pita bread and leaving an astronomical tip to make up for our usual restaurant douchebaggery I went straight home to catch up on what I'd missed.

I didn't get to hear any of the actual speech, but that's ok. I assume it went something like "blah blah troops blah stay the course blah blah laura make me a sandwich blah."

What I did get to hear was some balding politician glowingly discuss how although the Bush Administration's Iraq policy to date has failed abroad, it's been a domestic success.

I had my very best "what the fuck?!" expression plastered across my face for the next five minutes as he proceeded to explain that the fact that there haven't been any more terrorist attacks in the United States since 9/11 proves our escapades in the middle east have been successful.

Really. That was his point. The absence of an attack following 9/11 provesthat they successfully warded off any number of catastrophic terrorist attacks.

As usual, this is terrible logic. Where's the control group, asshole?

Jesus Christ. I'll bet that I demonstrated a more effective Middle East policy than George Bush did last night, and all I did was eat a plate of Persian food.

zebrasaur at 9:10 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next