2007-01-26

you have to earn that bowler hat

As a member (barely) of the UW Madison Honors program, I have to select a certain number of classes in which to complete extra coursework to prove that I am, in fact, smarter than everyone else. If I fail to do this, the University will confiscate my bowler hat and monocle and then shove me out of the warm, elitist light of Honors courses to take my anonymous place in the shiftless ranks of the Normals.

At least, that is the picture that has been painted for me.

Anyway, this afternoon, during my first Poli Sci 230 discussion, my professor casually remarked that he was giving to the honors students (and to us alone!) the gift of writing an assigned 25 pages written on 5 course-related books.

"Clearly," I thought to myself, "I heard him wrong. What he actually said was 'your honors extension for this class is to cast condescending glances at your non-honors classmates, then go home and watch reruns of The Real World'."

I don't have lecture again until Monday, so the condescending glances will have to wait until then. But I think I'll go get started on the other part of that assignment right about now...

zebrasaur at 2:41 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next