2007-02-02

do it for the sake of fashion

Madison has been experiencing a cold spell. And it is not the normal February throw-on-an-extra-scarf cold, it is the kind of cold that tempts you to eat four boxes of Oreos just for the warmth that the subsequent body fat would provide.

But this afternoon, while I was on my way to Walgreens to pick up some supplies (read: four boxes of Oreos) and praying for the good lord to put me out of my frostbitten misery, I came across a girl walking outside, bare-legged in a miniskirt.

She demonstrated all the hallmark characteristics of a Coastie: abrasive Jersey accent, ill-advised wardrobe choices, Starbucks cup clenched firmly in french-manicured hands. There is a lot of hatred circulating around the Coasties these days, but me... I'm just mystified.

I guess I'm still trying to gauge how stupid they are. I grew up in Minnesota, and now live in Wisconsin, so I have been exposed only to Midwestern stupidity. I am still adjusting to Northeastern stupidity, and it is hard to tell how much of it is raw stupidity and how much of it is a sort of cultural, fashion-inspired stupidity.

Although the sub-zero miniskirt incident doesn't say much in favor of their species, the jury is still out on this one.

(And by "the jury" I mean "me," and by "out" I mean eating four boxes of Oreos.)

zebrasaur at 2:30 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next