2007-03-30

Spring Breakdown

It is strange: I have very distinct memories of being intelligent.I used to tear through academia with, if not brilliance, at least coherency.

But these days I can't concentrate. I can't think. And I definitely can't compose a compelling essay on the trajectory US immigration law in less than forty minutes like Professor Marquez has requested. Maybe I should have gone to his office hours and explained that by some cruel twist of fate, I'm suddenly incapable of following the plotline of a Fruit of the Loom commercial-- I certainly can't say anything valuable about social theory.

What I do know is that I can't keep this up for three years. My sleepless, stressed out, headachey, caffeinated day-to-day has me feeling like an extra in a low-budget Oxygen network movie. And it is making me physically ill. Not the sort of physical illness that comes along with accidentally catching a bar of a Hilary Duff song on the radio or from inhaling a noseful of Axe body spray while passing some Frat douche on the street -- it is the kind that leaves me shaky and exhausted in the fetal position on the futon, looking to Phil of the Future for comfort.

One-last-midterm to go. If you're in the vicinity of Madison, WI you could save my life by pulling the fire alarm in the Humanities building at noon today. Consider it.

Over and out, space cadets.

zebrasaur at 6:03 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next