2007-08-04

leave hold of the doctrinaire

I just finished reading this book.

Probably you don't really care what I read and you're bored to tears right now. I don't blame you, but I can't sing and dance for you every day. I'm a blogger, not a Rockette.

I'll try my best to somehow humiliate myself this afternoon so I can tell you about it tomorrow. Maybe I'll even tell you about how I accidentally flashed everyone on 50th and France last Thursday (or, if I lose my nerve, you can just ask Cassie or Ali.) Meanwhile, please console yourself with this delightful shred of plagiarism, lifted from page 153 of the aforementioned book. It's important, so go ahead and read it out loud. For emphasis.

"There are days when I miss my old convictions as if they were an amputated limb. But in general I feel better, and you will feel better too, I guarantee, once you leave hold of the doctrinaire and allow your chainless mind to do its own thinking."

And he means it. I have never seen anyone so devoted to reason. This is a man who shaves with Ockham's razor. And though I have yet to cross the bridge from "agnostic" to "atheist," I gotta give him credit for that sort of dedication.


zebrasaur at 2:07 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next