2007-10-09

Origins of the Tradition of Islamic Mysticism during the Umayyad Caliphate

"Origins of the Tradition of Islamic Mysticism during the Umayyad Caliphate"...

...is the topic of this semester's L&S Honors project du jour! Intrigued? Leave word, and I'll let you read my prospectus!

Last year, whenever I spent an evening immersed in writing my Poli Sci 230 novelette, the floor around my desk would end up covered in crumpled notecards, spent shell casings, and tears. But I think I've been handling the stress much better this time around. I just spent three hours sifting through articles on JSTOR and not once was I tempted to begin drafting a suicide note! Ok, I did have a mini-tantrum about an hour ago-- but no one was awake to witness it so it's like it didn't happen!

Anyway, the history Islamic mysticism isn't nearly as dry as you would imagine. You could maybe even say that I like this material. In fact, this afternoon Devra had me half-convinced to take Arabic next semester. But then I remembered that learning a new alphabet would almost certainly interfere with my plans to spend all of next semester rooted to the living room couch eating cake batter out of a two-gallon bucket.

That's all for tonight. I'm off to curl up in bed and dream of the eighth-century spiritualist backlash against the early codification of Islamic law! Ahhhhh.......

zebrasaur at 12:24 a.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next