2008-05-15

tail end of finals week

It's the tail-end of finals week, so as you would expect I have spent the last ten hours in the library. About half that time has been spent formulating a convincing argument on the commonalities of 20th century revolutionary movement in Latin America, while the other half has been spent dreaming up elaborate schemes for my own dramatic suicide.

I naively thought that I was more or less on track with exam preparation until last night when I crawled into bed around 2, feeling sorry for myself because I had spent the evening hunched over de Motu Cordis instead hunched over a toilet bowl after an evening of binge drinking on the terrace like every other undergrad in this city. But no sooner had I closed my beautiful eyelids than I had the late-night epiphany that I never actually got around to reading my Pinochet's Chile text-- just wrote myself a series of increasingly emphatic post-it notes reminding myself to do so before the exam.

Aw fuck.

So my day has been spent in the company of good old Augusto, drinking black coffee by the vat and dreaming of the moment when I can stumble into my bed with a box of Franzia in one hand and box of Djarums in the other (as those are my latterday stuffed animals) and dream sweet dreams to which Pancho Villa and the Altacatl are not invited.

zebrasaur at 6:48 p.m.

0 comments so far

previous | next